header ads

Subscribe Us

header ads

The Majapahit was a Javanese Hindu thalassocratic kingdom

The Majapahit was a Javanese Hindu thalassocratic kingdom in Southeast Asia that was based on the island of Java (in modern-day Indonesia). It existed from 1293 to circa 1527 and reached its peak of glory during the era of Hayam Wuruk, whose reign from 1350 to 1389 was marked by conquests that extended throughout Southeast Asia. His achievement is also credited to his prime minister, Gajah Mada. According to the Nagarakretagama (Desawarñana) written in 1365, Majapahit was a kingdom with 98 vassal states , stretching from Sumatra to New Guinea; consisting of present-day Indonesia, Singapore, Malaysia, Brunei, southern Thailand, East Timor, southwestern Philippines (in particular the Sulu Archipelago) although the scope of Majapahit sphere of influence is still the subject of debate among historians. The nature of Majapahit relations and influences upon its overseas vassals, and also its status as an empire are still provoking discussions.

Majapahit was one of the last major Hindu kingdoms of the region and is considered to be one of the greatest and most powerful kingdoms in the history of Indonesia and Southeast Asia. It is sometimes seen as the precedent for Indonesia's modern boundaries. Its influence extended beyond the modern territory of Indonesia and has been the subject of many studies.

History of the Majapahit Kingdom

This kingdom was founded by Raden Wijaya, the son-in-law of Raja Kertanegara (the last ruler of the Singasari Kingdom) who died because of the Jayakatwang rebellion in 1292. At the time of the incident, Raden Wijaya managed to save himself from the incident.

In Majapahit: City Boundaries and Traces of Glory Outside the City (2012), Inajati Adrisijanti wrote that Raden Wijaya then cleared the forest in the Brantas River delta. That region eventually grew rapidly and became the forerunner of a kingdom called Majapahit.

The Majapahit Kingdom was declared after Raden Wijaya succeeded in conquering Jayakatwang in 1293. Subsequently, Raden Wijaya was crowned king with the title Kertarejasa Jayawardhana (1293-1309)

This kingdom reached its golden peak during the reign of Hayam Wuruk with the title Sri Rajasanegara (1350-1389). Hayam Wuruk himself is the grandson of Raden Wijaya. Hayam Wuruk's leadership was so strong because of the support of Mahapatih Gajah Mada, who was determined to unite all regions in the archipelago under the auspices of Majapahit.

The Lineage of the Ruling Kings
The following are the kings who ruled Majapahit from time to time.

Raden Wijaya/Kertarajasa Jayawardhana (1293-1309)
Kalagamet/Sri Jayanagara (1309-1328)
Sri Gitarja/Tribhuwana Wijayatunggadewi (1328-1350)
Hayam Wuruk/Sri Rajasanagara (1350-1389)
Wikramawardhana (1389-1429)
Suhita/Dyah Ayu Kencana Wungu (1429-1447)
Kertawijaya/Brawijaya I (1447-1451)
Rajasawardhana/Brawijaya II (1451-1453)
Purwawisesa/Girishawardhana/Brawijaya III (1456-1466)
Bhre Pandansalas/Suraprabhawa/Brawijaya IV (1466-1468)
Bhre Kertabumi/Brawijaya V (1468 -1478)
Girindrawardhana/Brawijaya VI (1478-1489)
Patih Air/Brawijaya VII (1489-1527)

After Gajah Mada died in 1364, followed by the death of Hayam Wuruk in 1389, Majapahit did not have a leader who was able to repeat the heyday of this kingdom.

After Gajah Mada died in 1364 and was followed by the death of Hayam Wuruk in 1389, there were no more leaders who were able to maintain the heyday of the Majapahit Kingdom.

Post a Comment